The Bitching Hour #5: Keep your germs to yourself!
Flu season is here people. Go out and get your shots, stock up on hand sanitizer and for the love of all things, keep your germs to yourself!
Korie
One of the reasons this week's post is a few days late, is because I am coming off a terrible cold. It's my first one since becoming a mom, and let me just say, no matter what kind of relationship you have with your mother (mine is FAR from perfect), just appreciate all the times she still kept you alive, with her head exploding and her nose dripping like a faucet. Not that being sick is ever fun, but I've recently discovered that it's even harder when your toddler is sniffly too and just wants to snuggle. Stay away from me kid. I did this to you.
Now, there are two possible sources of my "summer cold". Option 1.) husband who was on an airplane a few days prior and got sick around the same time as me, or option 2.) the disturbing lack of basic hygiene principles in the office. Since husband/ boyfriend/ fiance/male significant other complaints can be a post in and of themselves, let's dive into option 2 a little bit.
Alright folks, the office set up of 2017 is "open office". AKA, if you don't cough into your elbow the way we learned in grade school, your germs are going to fly free. No one wants that. Freaking cover your dang mouth. Also, as anyone who has ever worked in food service can attest, you need to wash your hands with hot, soapy water and sing "happy birthday" to yourself to get your hands even remotely clean. I'm talking to you lady who just turned on the cold water, got your hands wet, and then turned the water off again! Great, now I have to be the crazy person who has to waste a perfectly good paper towel by using it to open the door. And then sanitize my hands back at my desk, just in case. I'm really not that much of a germophobe, but the fact that I will be using the same microwave buttons, water dispenser, copy machine and various door handles as some of these people, seriously bugs me (pun intended). Thankfully flu shots are available on site next week. Yet you know some people are still not going to get them...
Tricia
Being a nurse I am highly aware of germs. I wouldn't say I'm a germaphobe but I am an observant person who notices the guy picking his nose while walking around the grocery store pushing a cart and then putting it back for someone else to use, or the lady biting her nails at the conference table who then touches the conference room door and shakes everyone's hands. I don't think people are observant or aware enough of themselves and the gross things they do that spread their germs. 99% of the time I wipe my shopping cart down when I get to the store. 99% of the time I wash my hands immediately when I get home from being in public. Why ? Because people are simply disgusting. There are hand sanitizer stations all over in public places and people just don't even bother. I've heard the argument that hand sanitizers create germ immunity and blah blah blah but then go wash your hands! I am all for building your own immunity but spreading your germs unnecessarily isn't going to help me do that, it's going to hurt me. If you're really concerned about the ingredients of hand sanitizer then make your own damn stuff.
Handwashing is the most basic way to reduce the spread of germs. It's really appalling to see the terrible hand washing people do such as just getting their hands wet or using cold water. You may as well not even bother. Thank you for sharing your urine/feces germs with everyone now. Thanks for picking your nose, biting your nails, wiping your eye boogers and then touching the door knob, shaking your boss' hand, dialing the phone, making copies...
The moral of the story is folks - wash your damn hands.
Tricia
Being a nurse I am highly aware of germs. I wouldn't say I'm a germaphobe but I am an observant person who notices the guy picking his nose while walking around the grocery store pushing a cart and then putting it back for someone else to use, or the lady biting her nails at the conference table who then touches the conference room door and shakes everyone's hands. I don't think people are observant or aware enough of themselves and the gross things they do that spread their germs. 99% of the time I wipe my shopping cart down when I get to the store. 99% of the time I wash my hands immediately when I get home from being in public. Why ? Because people are simply disgusting. There are hand sanitizer stations all over in public places and people just don't even bother. I've heard the argument that hand sanitizers create germ immunity and blah blah blah but then go wash your hands! I am all for building your own immunity but spreading your germs unnecessarily isn't going to help me do that, it's going to hurt me. If you're really concerned about the ingredients of hand sanitizer then make your own damn stuff.
Handwashing is the most basic way to reduce the spread of germs. It's really appalling to see the terrible hand washing people do such as just getting their hands wet or using cold water. You may as well not even bother. Thank you for sharing your urine/feces germs with everyone now. Thanks for picking your nose, biting your nails, wiping your eye boogers and then touching the door knob, shaking your boss' hand, dialing the phone, making copies...
The moral of the story is folks - wash your damn hands.
Comments
Post a Comment